Books

Ashes in the Snow

Ashes in the Snow An international bestseller a New York Times bestseller and now a major motion picture Ruta Sepetys s Between Shades of Gray is now the film Ashes in the Snow This special mov

  • Title: Ashes in the Snow
  • Author: Ruta Sepetys
  • ISBN: -
  • Page: 443
  • Format: Paperback
  • An international bestseller, a 1 New York Times bestseller, and now a major motion picture Ruta Sepetys s Between Shades of Gray is now the film Ashes in the Snow This special movie tie in edition features 16 pages of color movie stills starring Bel Powley and Jonah Hauer King in never before seen footage and a behind the scenes look at the making of the movie, plus a br An international bestseller, a 1 New York Times bestseller, and now a major motion picture Ruta Sepetys s Between Shades of Gray is now the film Ashes in the Snow This special movie tie in edition features 16 pages of color movie stills starring Bel Powley and Jonah Hauer King in never before seen footage and a behind the scenes look at the making of the movie, plus a brand new letter from the author Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important this novel is both The Washington Post Fifteen year old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father s prison camp But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief.Praise for Between Shades of Gray Superlative A hefty emotional punch The New York Times Book Review Heart wrenching an eye opening reimagination of a ve

    • ☆ Ashes in the Snow ↠ Ruta Sepetys
      Ruta Sepetys

    About "Ruta Sepetys"

    1. Ruta Sepetys

      Ruta Sepetys was born and raised in Michigan in a family of artists, readers, and music lovers As an author of historical fiction, Ruta is drawn to stories of strength through struggle Her award winning debut novel, Between Shades of Gray was inspired by her family s history in Lithuania and is published in 45 countries Her second novel, Out of the Easy is set in the French Quarter of New O Ruta Sepetys was born and raised in Michigan in a family of artists, readers, and music lovers As an author of historical fiction, Ruta is drawn to stories of strength through struggle Her award winning debut novel, Between Shades of Gray was inspired by her family s history in Lithuania and is published in 45 countries Her second novel, Out of the Easy is set in the French Quarter of New Orleans in 1950, and her third novel Salt to the Sea exposes one of the greatest hidden disasters of World War II Ruta lives in a treehouse in the hills of Tennessee.To read about Ruta s latest escapades, visit her website rutasepetys

    755 Comments

    1. Really loved this book and it s story because I personally have never heard about this side of the war before and I m so grateful I know about it now.


    2. This is not a pretty book.Even though I found this novel exceptionally well written, it was not a pleasure to read It s about Lithuanians displaced to Siberian work camps during World War II It was pretty unflinchingly brutal, but here s why I think you ought to read it 1 It is a side of World War II that you might not have seen before I certainly hadn t heard these stories of displaced Europeans, and I have to say, having been to Lithuania on tour last year, it made so much of what they sai Thi [...]


    3. Actual rating 4.5 starsAs soon as I saw this video, I knew I had to read this novel Between Shades of Gray isn t the type of book I d normally read, but I m extremely glad that I decided to read it.Lina is a very strong and courageous character Despite the situation Lina is placed in at the young age of fifteen, she audaciously chooses to write about the terrible cruelties the Soviets are doing to those around her as well as her family and herself Lina is an artist, and she uses this tale [...]


    4. I don t know what the educational plan looks like in other Canadian provinces it should be quite similar to Quebec s but where I went to high school we learned so little about the social consequences of World War II, so I m grateful I have books like BETWEEN SHADES OF GRAY to enlighten me on the subject Here s the thing this is different from Ruta Sepetys other novels Maybe because it s her first one, I don t know, but suffice it to say, it s not as impossible to put down Because it foc I [...]


    5. Exactly a year before, the Soviets have begun moving troops over the borders into the country Then, in August, Lithuania was officially annexed into the Soviet Union When I complained at the dinner table, Papa yelled at me and told me to never, ever say anything derogatory about the Soviets He sent me to my room I didn t say anything out loud after that But I thought about it a lot.Despite her father s caution, 15 year old Lena Vilkas, her 10 year old brother Jonas and their mother Elena [...]


    6. Now my heart sank into my stomach where the bile began to chew it Step on my heart, cut it wide open, rub it with salt and feed it to the sharks Or just make me read this book, because this is how it feels like reading this story.How can I call wonderful a book full of so many horrors But I will, because it really is, and what pains me the most is that it s all true, that this is a really tiny part of the darkest piece of our history as human beings.You thought this was repugnant Wel < [...]


    7. I was so taken by the story of Lina and her family and all of the others that came to life here as they were deported from their homes in Lithuania, by Stalin s Russians to a work camp in Siberia It s a devastatingly sad story of fictional characters but what makes it even heartbreaking is that this story reflects a true story of a genocide that took the lives of over 20 million people I am especially saddened by the fact that I knew pretty much nothing about it and I am grateful to the I was so [...]


    Leave a Comment